Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
2020 Annual Conference Call for Awards
Share |

TASSCC Award Nominations

The deadline for nominations is Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Do you know of an outstanding person or project that deserves recognition? We want to hear about your incredible teammates and collaborations.

Nominations Wanted - Employees of TASSCC member organizations are invited to submit nominations for the annual TASSCC Awards. These awards recognize outstanding achievements and honor the individuals and teams who work so diligently to improve our systems and processes in both Texas State Government and Higher Education.

Here are the Award Categories:

  • Rising Star Award (individual)
  • State Agency and Higher Education Project Excellence Awards (project/organization)
  • Trailblazer Award (individual)

Rising Star Award

The TASSCC Rising Star Award recognizes emerging government technology leaders who have less than 10 years of IT experience and not in a director or senior-level position. The nominee should have a track record that reflects a strong potential for continued advancement in the technology arena.  Nominees should have strong skills in one or more of the following areas:

  • Ability to implement innovative and effective technology;
  • Strong leadership skills and behavior;
  • Inspiring organization excellence or improvement;
  • Success managing change; or
  • Success implementing a key project having positive benefits to the organization and/or state. 

Project Excellence Award

TASSCC will award up to four (4) Project Awards each year which may achieve success in any or all of the following categories:

  • Cost Effective, High Value Initiatives
    For example: Legacy Modernization, Cloud Services, Shared Services
  • Application of Innovative Tools to Transform the Delivery of Public Services
    For example: TeleWork, Talent Management, Citizen Engagement
  • Collaborative Solutions
    For example: Internal collaboration or external collaboration initiatives
  • Data Sharing and Management
    For example: Open Data, Data Analytics, Data Lakes

Trailblazer Award

Making a Difference Through Leadership

The Trailblazer Award recognizes senior-level individual leadership and excellence in information technology from state agencies and institutions of higher education. This prestigious award recognizes one (1) individual from the Public Sector and one (1) from Higher Education who have impacted their organizations through strong leadership and dedication. Special consideration is given to those who have played a strong role in mentoring and sharing their information technology experience/knowledge with others, promoting intergovernmental cooperation and collaboration, and supporting the goals of the TASSCC organization. All levels of senior leadership are eligible for this award, and is not limited to CIO or IT Director. (Note: TASSCC and TAB Board Members are ineligible.)

Please direct any questions to or 512-474-1827.

The deadline for nominations is Tuesday, June 30, 2020.

Thank You 2020 Virtual Conference Sponsors